My Bangkok. Travel Themes. Cities.

Direct from Bangkok.

Bangkok, a megacity of 22 million, is a comfortable and relaxing place to re-visit, once you drop the compulsion to visit the major tourist spots. Like all big cities, Bangkok has its precincts and the area I love is residential and quiet, alongside a tree lined canal, with no passing traffic.

Quiet public spaces are everywhere- just drop into a nearby Buddhist temple. Walk the local streets and seek the shady side. Take a break from the heat and duck into a Chinese- Thai teahouse. Observe the detail of life. Show respect- a Sawadee kha/kap said with slight bow goes a long way.

This week’s travel theme for Ailsa’s Where’s My Backpack is cities.

Below. Start the day at a city Buddhist temple. Lotus buds are available as offerings.Image

Pink taxis and buses brighten the busy streets.

ImageImage

My favourite Chinese tea house

Image

Sleeping dog with mobile phone. Phone home!Image

Lady making floral offerings.Image

 

“I get my kicks above the waistline, sunshine” 

Quote from Murray Head. Do you know the song?

 

12 thoughts on “My Bangkok. Travel Themes. Cities.”

  1. Namaskaram Francesca – Bangkok!!!! The city very special for us (my husband actually proposed here again! and I finally said ‘yes’ 🙂 🙂 – for the past 14 years we have been there often staying a month or so. We love the people and as you said above , bowing slightly with folded hands, a smile and a Sawadee kha/kap brings always a friendly return. Can not wait to go back – It is so nice to see Bangkok through your eyes – love the tea house and the dog, of course :). Btw – I simply have to follow you now, for B. and all the other wonderful places you have been and where you will go to in the future. Ciao Carina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Carina, it must be special if it is the place of your proposal and annual holiday. I love all parts of Thailand too, and last year had a month up in northern Thailnd- you can find the stories on my blog. we are off to Vietnam for a month next week so will be posting on Hue and Hoi An and Dalat. Thanks for following.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 🙂 🙂 🙂 – not just alone for that reason – we just simply like the people and the place. I wish you a good but most of all safe journey and of course look forward to your posts from that part of the world – I know I will never see. Take care, Ciao Carina

        Like

Now over to you.

